fbpx

Amon passe encore tout près...

04. Jun 2024 
par Ziv Knoll
746 vues

Chris Amon, qui a qualifié sa March 701-Ford en deuxième position derrière la voiture soeur de Jackie Stewart, emmène (photo ci-dessus) Jack Brabham (Brabham BT33-Ford), Jean-Pierre Beltoise (Matra MS120), Jacky Ickx (Ferrari 312B) et Henri Pescarolo (Matra MS120), en début de course du Grand Prix de Monaco 1970.

La March 701, qui était la première March de F1, avait été dessinée par Robin Herd et Peter Wright. Elle avait une coque en aluminium et était propulsée par le bien connu Cosworth DFV. Elle avait des pontons en forme de goutte qui accueillaient des réservoirs d’essence. Une victoire seulement de toute sa carrière, quand Jackie Stewart remportait le Grand Prix d’Espagne 1970 au volant d’une 701 engagée par Tyrrell.

Le rapide mais si peu chanceux Néo-zélandais Amon était contraint à l’abandon sur bris de suspension au 60e tout de ce Grand Prix de Monaco, alors que le pole man Stewart, dans l’autre March de pointe, devait lui aussi renoncer, moteur cassé au 57e tour. Jochen Rindt (photo ci-dessous au volant de sa Lotus 49) remportait la course, quand au dernier virage du dernier tour, il passait la Brabham de Jack Brabham, qui venait de rater son freinage et de s’encastrer dans le rail…

Source: Rainer W Schlegelmilch

Leave a comment

fbpx

Amon comes close again…

04. Jun 2024 
by Ziv Knoll
558 views

Chris Amon, who had qualified his March 701-Ford in second position behind Jackie Stewart’s similar car, leads (picture-above) Jack Brabham (Brabham BT33-Ford), Jean-Pierre Beltoise (Matra MS120), Jacky Ickx (Ferrari 312B) and Henri Pescarolo (Matra MS120) in the early stages of the 1970 Monaco Grand Prix.

The March 701, which was March’s first F1 car, was designed by Robin Herd and Peter Wright. It had an aluminium monocoque, with the engine as a fully stressed member, and was powered by the Cosworth DFV. It had side-pods in aerofoil shape that hosted fuel tanks. One win only in its career, when Jackie Stewart won the 1970 Spanish Grand Prix in a Tyrrell-entered 701.

The fast but unlucky New-Zealander Amon was forced to retire of this Monaco Grand Prix on lap 60 when his suspension failed, while pole man Stewart in the other leading March 701, retired on lap 57 with a broken engine. Victory went in dramatic fashion, to Jochen Rindt (picture below in his Lotus 49B), when he passed Jack Brabham (Brabham) in the last corner of the last lap, when the Australian slid into the barriers…

Source: Rainer W Schlegelmilch

Leave a comment