28. Jul 2019 
by Ziv Knoll

Hockenheim 2000. Rubens Barrichello (Ferrari) finally scored his first Grand Prix victory after starting from the 18th position.

David Coulthard (McLaren-Mercedes) started from pole alongside Michael Schumacher (Ferrari), who collided with Fisichella on the first corner. Mika Hakkinen then took the lead of the race, until an intruder penetrated the circuit and caused a safety car period.

Barrichello meanwhile had gained 13 positions and was running 5th. It soon started to rain and the leaders pitted for wet tyres.

Rubens Barrichello stayed out on dry slick tyres, taking the lead which he held to clinch the first victory of his Formula One career. It was a very popular win for the likeable Brazilian.

  1. Rubens Barrichello (Ferrari)
  2. Mika Hakkinen (McLaren)
  3. David Coulthard (McLaren)
Source: DR

Leave a comment