Pedro de la Rosa

04. Apr 2021 
by Ziv Knoll

Pedro de la Rosa (born 24 February 1971), is a Spanish former Formula One driver who participated in 107 Grand Prix for the Arrows, Jaguar, McLaren, Sauber and HRT teams. He has scored a total of 35 championship points, which includes a podium finish at the 2006 Hungarian Grand Prix in a McLaren.

Seasons 1997 to 2006:

After winning the highly rated Formula Nippon championship in 1997, De la Rosa became a test driver for Jordan. The next year, he joined Arrows and scored one point by finishing sixth in his debut race, the Australian Grand Prix.

He then raced for two seasons (2001-2002) with Jaguar Racing scoring three points only.

De la Rosa became a test driver for McLaren in 2003, but raced at the 2005 Bahrein Grand Prix when Juan Pablo Montoya injured his shoulder. He finished fifth and set a lap record which holds till today.

In July 2006 it was announced that De la Rosa would take over the second McLaren seat following the departure of Montoya to the American NASCAR Series.

At the 2006 Hungarian Grand Prix, De la Rosa scored his first and only Formula One podium (picture below), finishing in second place behind Jenson Button (BAR-Honda) with Nick Heidfeld (BMW Sauber) in third position.

Podium (L to R): Second place Pedro de la Rosa (ESP) McLaren, race winner Jenson Button (GBR) Honda and third place Nick Heidfeld (GER) BMW Sauber F1.

Source: DR

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. Merci pour la présentation de Pedro de la Rosa,
    j’aurais aimé lire cet article en croquant du chocolat 🍫 Mais bon, j’ai oublié d’en acheter
    Cette année nous avons deux Espagnols Fernando Alonso et Carlos Sainz, on attend le frisson !!!
    Bonnes fêtes de Pâques 🐣

Leave a comment