D-Type and Le Mans

31. Jan 2024 
by Ziv Knoll

In 1956, the 24 Hours of Le Mans was held during the month of July, the one and only time in its history. For the overall victory, it was a three-way battle between Jaguar, Ferrari and Aston Martin. The two British marques enjoying the favours of the bookmakers.

Ron Flockhart and Ninian Sanderson gave in 1956 the Jaguar D Type the second of its three consecutive wins at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. After 1951, 1953 and 1955, it was the British manufacturer’s fourth victory. Three more would follow in 1957, 1988 and 1990. Two other Jaguar D-Type’s finished in the top 10, driven by Belgian drivers Jacques Swaters-Freddy Rousselle (fourth) and Mike Hawthorn-Ivor Bueb (sixth), the winners in 1955.

Picture-above: An Aston Martin DB3S and a Jaguar D-Type fighting it out at Le Mans in 1956. The winning car is on the right, the Jaguar #4 was driven by Ninian Sanderson and Ron Flockhart. Car #8, the Aston Martin, finished in second place, a lap down, and was driven by Stirling Moss and Peter Collins.

In six participations in the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Ron Flockhart only made it to the checkered flag twice…both times claiming the top step on the podium! In 1957, he scored a second consecutive victory along with Ivor Bueb, still with a Jaguar Type D. That year, his former teammate Ninian Sanderson (nine participations in the 24 Hours of Le Mans) finished second along with John Lawrence (picture-below).

Source: DR

Leave a comment