10th victory !

31. Mar 2020 
by Ziv Knoll

The Brazilian Grand Prix 1984 was held at Jacarepagua. The race was won by Alain Prost driving a McLaren MP4/2. It was the 10th victory for the brilliant Frenchman who will win 51 Grand Prix during his career.

Three drivers made their Formula 1 debut that day. Ayrton Senna, driving a Toleman-Hart for the very first time in front of his home crowd, was forced to retire after eight laps due to a turbo failure.

This race also saw the F1 debut of Martin Brundle and Stefan Bellof at Tyrrell. Brundle drove a very good race and finished 5th, but both Tyrrell drivers were later disqualified, their cars being found to infringe technical regulations on many grounds.

Prost won the race, more than 40 seconds ahead of Rosberg (Williams). De Angelis, who started from pole position, finished third in his black and gold Lotus.

Source: LAT Images

Leave a comment