Ferrari leads, Porsche wins

23. Nov 2021 
by Ziv Knoll

At the 1963 Targa Florio, the Scuderia Ferrari deployed its new 250P which had just won the 12 Hours of Sebring. After an early dominance, the two 250P driven by John Surtees and Willy Mairesse respectively, were both crashed.

The Ferrari 196SP driven by Ludovico Scarfiotti and Lorenzo Bandini then took the lead, pursued by the Porsche 718 GTR of Jo Bonnier and Carlo Maria Abate. Mairesse (picture above) was then chosen to drive the last shift in the leading 196SP, but another driving error cost him the first place, and the Porsche (picture below) won by just 11 seconds.

Porsche thus took the overall victory, marking the beginning of its dominance at the event which – apart from 1965 – will last till 1971.

Source: Klemantaski Collection

Leave a comment